Bismillah ar-Rahman ar-Rahim
Iqra Islamic Publications
Welcome to Islam
Accept Islam for your salvation
Live according to Islam for your spiritual progress

Imam Al-Ghazali's Ihya' 'Ulum Al-Deen

The Ihya' is Encyclopedic

The Ihya' is truly encyclopedic. It is not just one book but consists of forty books in four volumes as follows:

Volume I: On Worship ('Ibaadaat)

Book 1: Knowledge

Book 2: Foundations of the Articles of Faith

Book 3: The Secrets of Purity

Book 4: The Secrets of Ritual Prayer

Book 5: The Secrets of Zakah

Book 6: The Secrets of Fasting

Book 7: The Secrets of the Pilgrimage

Book 8: The Proprieties of Qur'anic Recitation

Book 9: Invocations and Supplications

Book 10: The Arrangements of Regular Invocations and Division of the Night Vigil

Volume II: On The Proprieties of Daily Life ('Aadaat)

Book 1: The Proprieties of Eating

Book 2: The Proprieties of Marriage

Book 3: The Proprietes of Acquisition and Earning a Livelihood

Book 4: The Lawful and Unlawful

Book 5: The Proprieties of Friendship, Brotherhood and Companionship

Book 6: The Proprieties of Seclusion

Book 7: The Proprieties of Travelling

Book 8: The Proprieties of Audition and Ecstacy

Book 9: Enjoining Good and Forbidding Evil

Book 10: The Proprieties of Living as Exemplified in the Virtues of the Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him.

Volume III: The Ways To Perdition (Muhlikaat)

Book 1: Expounding the Wonders of the Heart

Book 2: Disciplining the Soul, Refining the Character and Curing the Sicknesses of the Heart

Book 3: Breaking the Two Desires

Book 4: Harms of the Tongue

Book 5: Condemnation of Anger, Rancour and Envy

Book 6: Condemnation of the World

Book 7: Condemnation of Miserliness and of the Love of the World

Book 8: Condemnation of Status and Ostentation

Book 9: Condemnation of Pride and Conceit

Book 10: Condemnation of Self-Delusion

Volume IV: On The Ways To Salvation (Munjiyaat)

Book 1: Repentance

Book 2: Patience and Thanksgiving

Book 3: Fear and Hope

Book 4: Poverty and Abstinence

Book 5: The Unity of God and Reliance Upon Him

Book 6: Love, Longing, Intimacy and Contentment

Book 7: Intention, Truthfulness and Sincerity

Book 8: Holding Vigil and Self Examination

Book 9: Meditation

Book 10: The Remembrance of Death and the Afterlife

Hasbunallahu wa ni'mal Wakeel
Allah is Sufficient for us and (He is) the most excellent Trustee (3:173

< Return